Skip to content


The literary history of Weymouth is long and varied.

The North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame

In ceremonies held at Weymouth Center May 18, 1996, fifteen North Carolinians were inducted into the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame, honoring their contributions to the rich literary heritage of the state. The first inductees included James Boyd, Paul Green, Bernice Kelly Harris, O. Henry, and Thomas Wolfe among other notable North Carolina authors.

The Hall of Fame is located in the Boyd Room, the former study of James Boyd, with displays of plaques, pictures, books and other memorabilia. This study was once the literary gathering place that Jonathan Daniels declared “launched the Southern Literary Renaissance” in the 1920s and 30s.

The North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame realizes a dream of the late Sam Ragan, Poet Laureate of North Carolina (1982-1996).

It was authorized by joint resolution of the General Assembly in 1993 and formally established by a grant from the NC Department of Cultural Resources for the North Carolina Writers’ Network, an organization serving writers and readers across the state.

In the spirit of those who over the centuries have graced North Carolina with literature of such quality, beauty and power, the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame proudly honors writers who have achieved enduring stature in their devotion to their writing and to their state.

Learn more about the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame.

Donate today to keep Weymouth’s legacy alive for years to come.

Weymouth’s Library & Archives

The James Boyd Book Club

Book and tea on the lawn

The Writers-in-Residence Program

The Moore County Writers Competition

antique typewriter

The Cos Barnes Fellowship

2019 Cos Barnes Fellowship winner


James Boyd House

Back To Top