The Cos Barnes Fellowship in Fiction

In honor of Cos Barnes, the Weymouth Center for the Arts & Humanities is offering an annual merit-based fellowship for one North Carolina writer.

Cos Barnes, a talented writer and former chair of the Writers-in-Residence Program, was dedicated to Weymouth’s writers and poets.

The recipient will be awarded a one-week residency at Weymouth and a $500.00 stipend.

Submissions for the 2019 Cos Barnes Fellowship in Fiction will open on May 1 and end on July 31.

Award announced on September 1, 2019.

Meet Christine Hennessey, winner of the 2018 Cos Barnes Fellowship and 2017 Cos Barnes Fellowship in Fiction winner, Anita Collins.


Submission Guidelines for the Cos Barnes Fellowship in Fiction:

The Cos Barnes Fellowship in Fiction is open to all North Carolina writers or writers with a North Carolina connection.

*Stories must be double-spaced, 12 pt., Times New Roman, up to 6000 words. Please number and title every page. (.doc/.docx files only)

*Submit your best work. Previously published is acceptable.

*Submissions will be read blind. Submittable will collect and record your contact information. Please do NOT include a cover sheet with your piece.

*Entry fee is $15.00 per submission for Weymouth Writers (to qualify you must have taken a residency in the past year) and Friends of Weymouth members. All others will be $20.00 per submission.

*Simultaneous submissions are fine, but please notify us immediately if your work is accepted.

*No erotica or gratuitous violence

We are open to work that represents the full variety of humanity. We have no bias toward race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender, or physical limitation. 

Thank you to the Cos Barnes Fellowship in Fiction Review Committee for volunteering their time and expertise to the Weymouth Center for Arts & Humanities.



Katrina Denza

Chair; The Cos Barnes Fellowship in Fiction

Chair; Weymouth Writers-in-Residence

Vice President; Friends of Weymouth, Inc

Katrina’s work can be found in REAL: Regarding Arts and Letters, The Jabberwock Review, The Emerson Review, Storyglossia, The MacGuffin, Confrontation, Passages North, SmokeLong Quarterly, elimae, wigleaf, Pank, and Gargoyle #57, among others. Currently, she is an Associate Editor for Narrative Magazine. In 2011, Katrina was awarded the Carol Houck Smith Contributor Scholarship for the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference.


Review Committee:

Damita Nocton

Damita Nocton is a retired educator with a longtime love affair with the written word. She earned a BS degree in from Indiana State University, with a double major in elementary education and special education and an MA in elementary education from the University of Carolina at Pembroke. Damita is a certified reading specialist and spent over two decades fostering a love of reading and literature in children.

Upon retirement, Damita began a second career at The Country Bookshop in Southern Pines, where she can feed her passion in literary fiction, southern literature, and short story collections. Damita enjoys reading advanced copies of novels and submitting reviews to the publishers prior to publication. Damita serves on the Southern Pines Public Library Advisory Board and also volunteers with the Writers-in-Residence program at the Weymouth Center for the Arts & Humanities. She is an avid hiker and is currently section hiking the Appalachian Trail.

Kelly Mustian

Kelly Mustian’s work has been published in numerous literary journals and magazines, including Descant, Whiskey Island Magazine, The Journal of African Travel Writing, Mountain Living, and Blue Ridge Country. One of her stories won a Blumenthal Writers Series Award, and she has been a recipient of a Regional Artist Grant from the North Carolina Arts & Science Council. 


2019 Guest Judge

Holly Goddard Jones 

Holly Goddard Jones is the author of The Salt LineThe Next Time You See Me and Girl Trouble (stories). Her work has appeared in The Best American Mystery StoriesNew Stories from the SouthTin House magazine, and elsewhere. She was a recipient of The Fellowship of Southern Writers’ Hillsdale Prize for Excellence in Fiction and of a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award. She earned her M.F.A. from Ohio State University and her B.A. from the University of Kentucky. She teaches creative writing at UNC Greensboro and lives in Greensboro with her husband, Brandon, and their children.


May 1 through July 31, 2019