The Weymouth Center for the Arts & Humanities is thrilled to present the 2017 Cos Barnes Fellow in Fiction:

Anita Collins

“The Future Belongs to Those Who Believe”

Author photo for Anita CollinsA late starter to writing fiction, Anita Collins won the 2016 Doris Betts Fiction Prize with her story, “The Anderson Kid,” published in the North Carolina Literary Review. Anita was also a named a Finalist (2016) and awarded an Honorable Mention (2015) for the James Hurst Prize for Fiction competition held by North Carolina State University. She completed a two-week residency at the Weymouth Center in August and is looking forward to another residency next spring as the Cos Barnes Fellow in Fiction.

After living in Holland, Germany, Tennessee, and Georgia, Anita Collins now lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina with her husband, songwriter Wes Collins, her science-loving daughter Cassie, and her design-loving son Will. By day, she manages a change management team for the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. Nights and weekends, Anita writes short stories and is in the early stages of writing her first novel.

Anita will be taking her residency in the spring when she will also receive her stipend. We are honored to have her back in residence as a Cos Barnes Fellow 2017.

Here’s what the review committee had to say about “The Future Belongs to Those Who Believe”:

A very impressive concept executed in a very interesting voice.

There’s an almost surreal quality … this taps into the emptiness of materialism and modern consumer culture.

Well written, a fresh and confident voice.

Smooth; like the spiel the protagonist and cronies spout.

The voice of this piece is terrific; full of authority, humor, self-deprecation, honesty, and dishonesty. It’s the voice of a confident writer.

Congratulations to the Cos Barnes Fellow 2017 Honorable Mentions:

Sea Change by Cathy Larson Sky

Cathy Larson Sky’s poems have won awards from The North Carolina Poetry Society and Kakalak journal of NC/SC arts. Her 2014 chapbook Blue egg, my heart was published by Finishing Line Press. She is a former Our Lives columnist for the Raleigh News and Observer and music reviewer for The Independent weekly. She is the author of two unpublished novels.

Wendell Berry’s Peace by Heather Bell Adams

Heather Bell Adams, a lifelong resident of North Carolina, has published short fiction in The Thomas Wolfe Review, Clapboard House, First Stop Fiction, Southern Writers Magazine, Deep South Magazine, Broad River Review, and elsewhere. Her submission “Wendell Berry’s Peace” won the 2016 James Still Fiction Prize and was the runner-up for the Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize and a finalist for the Reynolds Price Fiction Award. Heather’s first novel, MARANATHA ROAD, releases September 1, 2017, from Vandalia Press, the creative imprint of West Virginia University Press.

Meet Christine Hennessey, winner of the 2018 Cos Barnes Fellowship.

Thank you to the Cos Barnes Fellowship 2017 Review Committee.

Jeremy Hawkins

Damita Nocton

Pat Riviere-Seel

Kathryn Talton

Anna Yeatts

Katrina Denza, Chair

To become a writer-in-residence, apply here.